September 25, 2018

The Fourth Annual Engineering Biology Awards Recognize Excellence in the Synthetic Biology Industry at SynBioBeta 2018

SynBioBeta awards

SynBioBeta will recognize Dr. Christina Agapakis, Bryan Johnson, Jeffrey Kluzinger, Prof. Paul Freemont, and Prof. Richard Kitney for their achievements within our community as part of the Fourth Annual Engineering Biology Awards. The awards will be presented by SynBioBeta Founder and CEO John Cumbers at the upcoming SynBioBeta 2018 Conference in San Francisco.

“I am excited to recognize these true pioneers in the synthetic biology industry,” said SynBioBeta’s John Cumbers. “The field of synthetic biology has made incredible strides in enabling life-saving technologies and applications that will improve our world. Our success as a field stands on the shoulders of innovators like these.”

Dr. Christina Agapakis, Creative Director of Ginkgo Bioworks, will be recognized for her Excellence in Public Engagement. A biologist, writer, and artist interested in the future of biotechnology, Dr. Agapakis has collaborated with engineers, designers, artists, and social scientists to explore the connections among microbiology, technology, art, and popular culture. She is creating new routes for engaging the public about synthetic biology through her numerous works, including guest posts on SynBioBeta.

Bryan Johnson, founder of OS Fund, will be recognized for his Leadership in Synthetic Biology. Through the OS Fund, Johnson has invested in a number of early-stage science and technology companies working to benefit humanity through discoveries on the operating system (OS) level. Jeffrey Klunzinger, co-founder of OS Fund, will also be recognized for his Leadership in Synthetic Biology. Through the OS Fund, Klunzinger is enabling the next generation of entrepreneurs focused on realizing advancements that are fundamental to our future.

Prof. Richard Kitney, Co-Founder and Co-Director of SynbiCITE, an author of the British Govt’s “UK Synthetic Biology Roadmap” and a main author of the follow-up 2016 report “Bio-design for the Bioeconomy”, will be recognized for his Leadership in Synthetic Biology. Prof. Kitney has been a leader of UK R&D and the translation of synthetic biology for more than a decade, promoting global synthetic biology developments and working to establish government policy. He is fellow of the National Academy of Engineering (UK), an EBRC International Fellow and a member of the UK Govt’s Synthetic Biology Leadership Council.

Prof. Paul Freemont, Co-Founder and Co-Director of SynbiCITE, the UK’s Innovation and Knowledge Centre for the translation and commercialisation of synthetic biology, will be recognized for his Leadership in Synthetic Biology. A leading figure in synthetic biology, he has played a key part in the development of synthetic biology in the UK and was a co-author of the British Government’s “UK Synthetic Biology Roadmap”. He is also an active member of the US Engineering Biology Research Consortium.

In 2014, SynBioBeta created the Engineering Biology Awards as a way to celebrate the great science, engineering, and technologies being pioneered within our community. Previous award winners have included many of the pioneers of synthetic biology: Dan Gibson, Drew Endy, Alicia Jackson, Christina Smolke, Christopher Voigt and Rt. Hon. Lord David Willets.

Please join us in recognizing these five individuals who are making great strides to shape the landscape of our industry.


Stay updated on the latest news in synthetic biology

Subscribe to the SynBioBeta news digest